• Following Us

  • Categories

  • Check out the Archives

  • Awards & Nominations

International On-Line Film Critics’ Poll Nominees Announced…

The nominees for the 2012 International On-Line Film Critics’ Poll 2012 have been announced. Open to all films released in the United States between November 2011 and November 2012, it allows for a slightly different playing field than the Oscars typically does. It also means that I am (as a non-American) far more likely to have seen all the nominees, with only Lincoln yet to see among the Best Picture nominees. Anyway, I will be sending in my ballot soon enough, but take a gander at the full list of nominees below. It’s a strong list, to be sure.


Best Film – Motion Picture

Best Director

Best Actor in a Leading Role

  • Daniel Day-Lewis – Lincoln
  • Jean Dujardin – The Artist
  • Colin Firth – The King’s Speech
  • Joaquin Phoenix – The Master
  • Gary Oldman – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Best Supporting Actor

  • Christian Bale – The Fighter
  • Bryan Cranston – Argo
  • Christopher Plummer – Beginners
  • Geoffrey Rush – The King’s Speech
  • Philip Seymur Hoffman – The Master

Best Supporting Actress

  • Amy Adams – The Master
  • Amy Adams – The Fighter
  • Bérénice Bejo – The Artist
  • Helena Bonham Carter – The King’s Speech
  • Melissa Leo – The Fighter

Best Cast

  • Argo
  • The Artist
  • The Fighter
  • The King’s Speech
  • Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Best Original Screenplay

  • Paul Thomas Anderson – The Master
  • Paddy Considine – Tyrannosaur
  • Sean Durkin – Martha Marcy May Marlene
  • Andrés Heinz, Mark Heyman and John McLaughlin – Black Swan
  • David Seidler – The King’s Speech

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Lucy Alibar and Ben Zeitlin – Beasts of the Southern Wild
  • Bridget O’Connor, Peter Straughan – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
  • Alexander Payne, Net Faxon and Jim Rash – The Descendants
  • Tony Kushner – Lincoln
  • Chris Terrio – Argo

Best Cinematography

  • Emmanuel Lubezki – The Tree of Life
  • Hoyte Van Hoytema – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
  • Janusz Kaminski – Lincoln
  • Walter Pfister – The Dark Knight Rises
  • Guillame Shiffman – The Artist

Best Production Design

  • Rick Carter – Lincoln
  • Nathan Crowley, Kevin Kavanaugh – The Dark Knight Rises
  • Maria Djurkovic – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
  • David Crank, Jack Fish – The Master
  • Dennis Gassner – Skyfall

Best Film Editing

  • Tariq Anwar – The King’s Speech
  • William Goldenberg – Argo
  • Michael Kahn – Lincoln
  • Leslie Jones, Peter McNulty – The Master
  • Dino Jonsäter – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Best Original Score

  • Ludovic Bource – The Artist
  • Alberto Iglesias – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
  • Alexandre Desplat – The King’s Speech
  • Jonny Greenwood – The Master
  • Clint Mansell – Black Swan

Best Visual Effects

  • The Avengers
  • Black Swan
  • The Dark Knight Rises
  • Skyfall
  • The Tree of Life

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: